„We want to provide orientation.“

An interview with the COO of Grafenfels,
Stefan Müller

Grafenfels, that sounds like a traditional family business ... 

... well, actually we are a newly founded company. But we want to be measured by the classic values these companies represent such as reliability, quality and dependability.

How are these traditional values aligned with the fact that
Grafenfels is actually a newly founded company in Berlin?

We find the connection to both worlds extremely interesting — those traditional values on one side and the dynamic, the drive for innovation and the strong internet presence of a start-up on the other.

What makes Grafenfels different from other
mattress manufacturers?

Quality is extremely important to us; it is quasi our reason to exist. Most manufacturers develop a mattress and have it tested afterwards. We collaborate with renowned institutes who test our prototypes already in the design phase. In this way, we can improve our mattresses step by step throughout the process.

Moreover, in the production of each individual mattress component, we are working with the best manufacturers, craftsmen and producers. With the exception of a Belgian manufacturer who makes our natural latex cores, we produce exclusively in Germany.

interview-1

Why are you so passionate about the subject of mattresses?

It is incredibly hard to find the right mattress. The focus is only on the technical details. The needs people have and a transparency about how the mattresses are made are left out. Grafenfels wants to change that. We want to provide orientation.

Your motto is: „Enter Your Comfort Zone“, even though
the original saying rather states that one should leave it.
Does this make sense?

That actually makes a lot of sense. We can only leave our comfort zone — to strive and deliver our best — when we have laid down a good basis. This means that we need to be absolutely relaxed and rested when we are in our comfort zone in order to fully recharge our batteries.

And how is Grafenfels changing the shopping experience?

Our five different mattresses, in contrast to most other manufacturers, have been specially designed for particular types of sleepers. Therefore, the needs that most people have to sleep well are provided for no matter whether you prefer a firmer or softer mattress, place a high value on sustainability or want your bed to be like those in a luxury hotel. In this way, we make it extremely easy for our customers to find the perfect mattress.

Why is there a dragon in the Grafenfels logo?

The dragon is a symbol in Chinese culture that stands for dependability, protection and strength — in other words, all the things we expect from our sleep. In Asian countries, there is often a picture of a dragon hung over a child’s bed to ensure that the child will sleep peacefully and safely. For us, the dragon has become the symbol for good sleep and a perfect comfort zone.

FIVE PRINCIPLES 
ONE STANDARD

How we do business

Find out more
ATTENTION
TO DETAIL

How we design

Find out more
CRAFTSMANSHIP
MEETS HIGH TECH

How we made it

Find out more

„Wir wollen Orientierung geben.“

Grafenfels-Geschäftsführer Stefan Müller im Gespräch

Grafenfels, das klingt nach traditionsreichem Familienunternehmen ...

... was wir jedoch nicht sind. Aber wir wollen an klassischen Werten wie Beständigkeit, Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit gemessen werden.  

Wie gehen diese traditionellen Werte mit der Tatsache zusammen,
dass Grafenfels ein neu gegründetes Berliner Unternehmen ist?

Wir finden die Verbindung der beiden Welten extrem spannend. Die traditionellen Werte auf der einen Seite und als Pendant dazu die Dynamik und den Innovationsdrang eines jungen Unternehmens.

Was macht Grafenfels anders als andere Matratzenhersteller?

Qualität ist uns extrem wichtig, sie ist quasi unsere Daseinsberechtigung. Die meisten Hersteller entwickeln eine Matratze und lassen sie anschließend testen. Wir haben uns schon während der Entwicklungsarbeit mit renommierten Instituten zusammengetan und unsere Prototypen testen lassen. So konnten wir die Matratzen Schritt für Schritt weiter optimieren.

Außerdem arbeiten wir für die Herstellung der einzelnen Matratzenteile mit den besten Manufakturen, Handwerkern und Produzenten zusammen. Bis auf den belgischen Hersteller unserer Naturlatexkerne produzieren wir ausschließlich in Deutschland.

interview-1

Warum gehen Sie das Thema Matratzen so leidenschaftlich an?

Es ist wahnsinnig schwer, die richtige Matratze zu finden. Im Fokus stehen oft leider nur technische Details. Die Bedürfnisse der Menschen und die Transparenz bei der Herstellung bleiben außen vor. Das möchten wir mit Grafenfels ändern. Wir wollen Orientierung geben.

Ihr Motto lautet: „Enter Your Comfort Zone“. Dabei heißt es doch,
man solle genau diese besser verlassen. Ergibt das Sinn?

Das ergibt sogar sehr viel Sinn. Denn wir können ja nur dann unsere Comfort Zone verlassen, uns anstrengen und zu Höchstleistungen bringen, wenn wir eine gute Basis dafür legen. Und die besteht darin, dass wir in unserer Comfort Zone absolute Entspannung und Ruhe haben, um unsere Akkus wieder voll aufzuladen.

Und wie verändert Grafenfels das Einkaufserlebnis?

Unsere fünf verschiedenen Matratzen sind, anders als bei den meisten anderen Herstellern, speziell für bestimmte Schlaftypen entwickelt worden. So können wir die Schlafbedürfnisse eines Großteils der Menschen abdecken. Ganz gleich, ob man lieber hart oder weich schläft, besonderen Wert auf Nachhaltigkeit legt oder sich wie im Luxushotel betten möchte. So machen wir es unseren Kunden extrem einfach, die perfekte Matratze zu finden.

Warum hat Grafenfels eigentlich einen Drachen im Logo?

Der Drache steht vor allem in der chinesischen Kultur für Beständigkeit, Schutz und Kraft – also all das, was wir uns von unserem Schlaf wünschen. In asiatischen Ländern hängen über den Kinderbetten oft Drachenbilder, damit die Kinder ruhig und sicher schlafen. So ist der Drache für uns zum Symbol für guten Schlaf und eine perfekte Comfort Zone geworden.

FÜNF GRUNDSÄTZE
EIN ANSPRUCH

So handeln wir

Mehr erfahren
MIT LIEBE
ZUM DETAIL

So designen wir

Mehr erfahren
HANDWERK
TRIFFT HIGHTECH

So produzieren wir

Mehr erfahren