8 Tips: How to Make the Bedroom into a Comfort Zone

With these tips, you can use your mattress and
accessories to create the perfect comfort zone

02.01.2017 | Grafenfels editorial staff

1. Ban the hectic of every day life from your bedroom so that you can really relax. The home office next to your bed, the ironing board in front of your closet and the laptop on the nightstand all signal work and according to experts, could cause you to sleep badly.

2. Create your own individual comfort zone. Every person has different needs when it comes to their mattress. Weight, height, body type and sleeping preferences are determining factors in deciding which model is the right fit. In order for both partners to have a refreshing sleep, it is usually advisable for couples to sleep on two different mattresses. All Grafenfels models can be practically combined and fit flush with each other — this is because they all have the same height and do not create gaps between them.

3. Surround yourself with natural materials in your comfort zone. A bed made of wood, a carpet made of wool and sheets made of cotton all serve to create a pleasant atmosphere and a feeling of harmony.

4. Use warm and muted colors in your comfort zone. These colors have a calming effect on a person. When choosing colors keep in mind that dark colors create a feeling of security and light tones create a relaxed atmosphere. We know from the psychology of color that we associate colors with particular feelings and that colors can automatically affect our moods. This is why your bedroom should never be painted red. Our nervous system reacts to this color by producing more adrenalin. The result is that our blood pressure becomes higher and our breathing becomes faster. This makes it harder to sleep.

5. Block the sun and other artificial light out of your comfort zone with the help of shades, blinds or curtains — at least when you are sleeping. Refreshing sleep needs darkness. Light decreases the body’s production of melatonin although it is exactly this hormone that is needed when we are tired. If necessary, use a sleep mask to block out the light.

6. Reserve your bed for sleeping. Surfing on your laptop, eating or phoning can be done elsewhere. Otherwise, your mind will forget what the mattress is actually for. Of course, the well-known exception to this rule is a good book on your nightstand.

7. Do without a TV in your comfort zone — even when you are used to closing your eyes while watching late night television. Those who cannot do without a TV near their beds should at least try not to use the television to fall asleep. The blue glow and white noise emitted by your television can rob you of your sleep. Sleep becomes more shallow and we are definitely less refreshed afterwards.

8. Make sure you have a cool climate — even if sometimes it seems a little chilly. The ideal temperature for your comfort zone is 18 °C / 65 °F. Temperatures that are too high can disturb the sleep process.

8 Tipps: So wird das Schlafzimmer zur Comfort Zone

Mit diesen Tipps schaffen Sie aus Matratze und Co.
die perfekte Wohlfühlzone

02.01.2017 | Grafenfels Redaktion

1. Verbannen Sie die Hektik des Alltags aus dem Schlafzimmer, damit Sie wirklich zur Ruhe kommen können: Das Homeoffice neben dem Bett, das Bügelbrett vor dem Kleiderschrank und der Laptop auf dem Nachttisch signalisieren Arbeit und können Experten zufolge sogar für schlechten Schlaf sorgen.

2. Schaffen Sie Ihre individuelle Comfort Zone: Jeder Mensch hat andere Ansprüche an seine Matratze. Gewicht, Größe, Körperbau und Liegevorlieben bestimmen darüber, welches Modell zu uns passt. Damit beide Partner einen erholsamen Schlaf bekommen, ist es für Paare meist sinnvoll, auf zwei verschiedenen Matratzen zu liegen. Bei Grafenfels können praktischerweise alle Modelle miteinander kombiniert und nebeneinandergelegt werden – dank gleicher Höhen und ohne „Besucherritze“.

3. Umgeben Sie sich in der Comfort Zone mit natürlichen Materialien: Das Bett aus Holz, der Teppich aus Wolle und die Laken aus Baumwolle schaffen ein angenehmes Raumklima und eine harmonische Stimmung.

4. Halten Sie die Comfort Zone in warmen und gedeckten Farben: Sie haben eine beruhigende Wirkung auf den Menschen. Bei der Farbwahl gilt: Dunkle Farben schaffen Geborgenheit, helle Töne lockern die Atmosphäre. Aus der Farbpsychologie wissen wir, dass Farben Assoziationen wecken und uns automatisch in bestimmte Stimmungen versetzen. Deshalb gilt für Rot ein absolutes Schlafzimmerverbot. Sehen wir diese Farbe, schüttet das Nervensystem Adrenalin aus. Als Folge steigt der Blutdruck und wir atmen schneller. Das erschwert das Einschlafen.

5. Verbannen Sie Sonne und künstliches Licht mithilfe von Jalousien, Rollos oder Vorhängen aus der Comfort Zone – zumindest, wenn Sie schlafen: Erholsamer Schlaf braucht Dunkelheit, denn Licht verringert die Produktion von Melatonin. Aber genau dieses Hormon benötigen wir, um müde zu werden. Im Notfall sorgt die Schlafbrille für Dunkelheit.

6. Reservieren Sie das Bett für den Schlaf: Am Laptop surfen, essen oder telefonieren können Sie auch anderswo. Sonst vergisst der Geist, wozu die Matratze eigentlich bestimmt ist. Die berühmte Ausnahme von der Regel ist das gute Buch auf dem Nachttisch.

7. Verzichten Sie auf den Fernseher in der Comfort Zone: Auch wenn Sie gerne beim Spätprogramm die Augen zufallen lassen. Wer gar nicht ohne TV am Bett sein mag, sollte es zumindest nicht als Einschlafhilfe nutzen. Durch das blauwellige Licht und die Geräuschkulisse wird der Fernseher zum Schlafräuber. Der Schlaf wird oberflächlicher, und wir erholen uns deutlich schlechter.

8. Sorgen Sie für ein kühles Klima: Auch wenn es manchem ein wenig kalt erscheint, die Idealtemperatur für die Comfort Zone beträgt 18 Grad. Zu hohe Temperaturen können den Schlafprozess stören.